I Want the Real Thing

I took myself and a couple of the kids to the track the other day. And it was killer. I have been doing so well on my treadmill at home and the day was so nice that I thought I’d take my running outside on this particular day. Big mistake? You tell me. I think I’m doing something wrong.

When I run on the treadmill I can easily run 15 minutes. In just a few short months I’ve gone from just walking to interval training to doing what I’m doing now, warming up with a brisk walk, running, and then cooling down.

When we went to the track, I was surprised to find that I wasn’t making it near as far. I made it about half my distance. Not quite 2 miles. Ugh.

I think when you’re out on the track, you run for real. You have the open road in front of you and you are just trying to conquer it and make it to the end. Where as, on the treadmill, you’re stuck in one space. I’m thinking that it is completely affecting my actual speed and my stride.

Anyway, it got me thinking:

Real is better.

The treadmill was giving me a false sense of where I’m at and what I’m capable of. Running on an actual road was much more difficult and gave me a true sense of where I’m actually at. And while I’d like to believe that I’ve made huge strides and can really run 15 minutes, getting out on the track showed me the truth.  I gots me some work to do.

And isn’t this true of so many things in life? Real is just better.  It doesn’t just taste/feel/work better, its actually better for you.

Sweet tea.

Whipped cream.

Chicken nuggets.

Coffee.

Okay, enough with the food…

Relationships.

Marriage.

Fabrics.

Sun.

Conversations.

Friends.

Bacon. (Sorry, had to throw that one in.)

So, I’m thinking its time to get out on the open road again more often. Feel the concrete on my feet. Work a little harder. I’m guessing, while it may take more work, the end result will be more rewarding.

I link up with some of these fantastic sites. Check them out!

11 thoughts on “I Want the Real Thing

  1. Reality check is WAY better! Always remember the real butter! Thanks for sharing! I could relate to that!
    Visiting you from the Happy Wives Club Link Up.

  2. You are so right! I can reach 2.25 miles in about 23 minutes on the treadmill… still exhausted after but I can do it. When I ran outside for the first time I could not believe what was happening to me. What the heck!? After learning more about ‘real running’ your ideal way to train is in all different ways. One day on the treadmill, the next on the track, the next on grass, the next on asphalt, etc. Your muscles have to adapt to the changes in the surface you are on and therefore your abilities improve. Good Luck!!

Leave a Reply

